National Cyclocross Series – Round 5


Posted by auscxmag

Posted in News

words: auscxmag     Photography: Tim Loft


Round five of the National Cyclocross Series (NCXS) were held in Adelaide on Sunday at one of the host club’s most iconic Cyclocross venues known as ‘Zombie Park,’ due to the park’s location next to the West Terraces Cemetery. Port Adelaide Cycling Club provided a wonderful atmosphere with four different food options, a mobile bar and a jumping castle for the kids. This meant there was absolutely no excuse to leave until all racing was finished for the day.

The course for the day that was set with the aim of capturing the Cyclocross rider’s heart. It had fast straights, fast corners, slow corners, off camber corners, a spiral and a wicked section on a sharp hill in the northern end of the park that finished with one of the biggest roll-ins in Australian ‘cross.




First race of the day was the combined Open Bike, C Grade CX and Women’s CX/Open categories. The Open Bike category were set of first and with only 3 starters it looked like a fun event for cool dudes to have a roll around. Tim Loft didn’t finish as he stopped after two laps to enjoy the scenery and photograph the race he was competing in. C Grade men saw riders of varied skill and fitness enjoy racing on the excellent course with Dan Tattersall taking the win ahead of Paul Black in second and Colin Ware-Lane third. In the Open Women’s Category it was Nicole Jeffries who took the win beating most of the men in the process with Kate Merritt second and Australian Cyclocross Magazine’s Christine Carter third.




The B Grade Men’s race was at capacity and sold out before the day with 50 rider registered. There was lots of heckling and laughs on the start line before a very fast start in which David Miller won the holeshot. Another ten riders got through the finish straight before a large nasty crash blocked the course momentarily as well as unfortunately ending it for Port Adelaide Cycle Club president Mark Gregory. Australian Cyclocross Magazine wish Marky G a speedy recovery. The four lap race was very fast at the front with Jerry Van de Pol and Noah Barrow battling at the front all the way to the finish line. It was Van de Pol who won with Noah Barrow settling for second and Lachlan Glasspool claiming third.




The elite women’s race had a strong field of 20 starters including newly crowned back to back National Champion Lisa Jacobs (Apollo/ showing off her green and gold National Champion skinsuit. April McDonough (iRide bikes) was fastest off the line at the start as a lead group formed consisting of McDonough, Lisa Jacobs, Mel Anset (Flanders-Nemisis), Teri Rhodes (Exact Mining/Giant Bikes) and Josie Simpson (Park Trent Properties). It was the closest race seen so far in the 2014 series with the lead group staying together until Lisa Jacobs attacked on the second last lap. Jacobs would not be caught from this move and went on to win by 48 seconds. April McDonough crashed on the last lap which had her wrestling to get the dropped chain back on the rings for quite some time. As a result McDonough relinquished her second place to Teri Rhodes, with Melissa Anset crossing the finish line for third.




A large field of over 70 riders lined up for the elite men’s race meaning a good position through the first corners of the course would be crucial. Chris Aitken (Focus Bikes Australia) and new National Champion Chris Jongewaard (Whippets Workshop) lead the field through the first turn and they were joined by Adrian Jackson (Exact Mining/Lappierre Bikes), Allan Iacuone (Rapha), Peter Hatton (Giant Bikes) and Ben Bradley (Target-Trek) forming a large group that rode together for the first three laps of the race. Jongewaard and Jackson broke free from the group and forced a large gap with Hatton solo in third. Jongewaard waited until the final lap before he attacked Jackson and ride away solo to win by 19 seconds over Adrian Jackson with Peter Hatton coming third.




The win for Chris Jongewaard consolidated his lead in the National Series, while April McDonough did enough with her fourth place to also retain the series lead in the women’s category.

The final two rounds of the 2014 National Cyclocross Series are to be held in Sydney on the 23/24 August.


C Grade CX/Open/Womens Open

Mens B Grade CX

Elite Women

Elite Men