National Cyclocross Series – Round Four


Posted by auscxmag

Posted in News

words: auscxmag    photography: Martin Hurley


Round Four of the Australian National Cyclocross Series (NCXS) was to be the second consecutive day of racing in Perth with the location moving to Garvey Park in the suburb of Ascot. The local cyclocross community were excited to show off the course and interstate riders were told to expect one of the best cyclocross courses they will get to ride in Australia.




To best describe the course that was set I would like to quote Nik Cee from the Dirty Deeds CX crew “ In particular the second days course at Garvey park was an excellent example of what makes cross awesome. Sand runs, stairs, slippery and sticky mud, off camber and tight turns, single track and wide open lanes. Plus some great head to head racing. The kind of course that almost makes you want to do more laps after finishing… Almost”. What Nik does gloss over is the sand run. It was a good 70 metre stretch of deep soft sand that for almost all riders meant dismounting for a long dreaded run. This tough section was rewarded shortly after with my favourite section consisting of a spiral in a gully – so much fun!

A combined support race again started the day with 27 riders across the three grades. It was a very fast start, and while jostling for position around the second corner Australian Cyclocross Magazine’s Sean Couley was pushed wide through the tape and of course being left to chase back through the field on the first lap. From the first lap a lead group had formed consisting of John Carney, Ian Longville and Greg Murison of BrewCX. As the race progressed it would be Ian Longville who would distance himself from the field to comfortably win the race by more than two minutes. John Carney rode a strong and consistent race to eventually wear down and ride away to second place ahead of Greg Murison, who was in turn very pleased to finally beat Sean Couley into fourth place.




Round Four of the Elite Women’s race had the same seven ladies as took to the start line from round three. Again, all seven ladies lined up on the front row of the start line, but this time it was Mel Anset who got the best start and lead the field through the first corner. Anset is known for her smooth high cadence pedalling technique, and it enabled her to ride most of the difficult sand section to the delight of spectators. Though as per the previous day it was April McDonough who quickly stamped authority on the race, taking the lead and never looking back. Again showing the amazing power April can push through the pedals, she rode away from the field barely putting a foot wrong to win her second race of the weekend by over two minutes. Similar to Saturday’s result, Melissa Anset rode a consistent pace to again finish in second place, with Victorian Josie Simpson not only claiming third place after her fifth place the previous day, but also being the first 40+ category woman across the line.




The elite men had a very fast start at Garvey Park due to the urgency to be near the front before the stair run which was not long after the first corners. Within the first lap a lead group formed consisting of Chris Jongewaard, Shaun Lewis, Garry Millburn, Adrian Jackson and Paul Redenbach. Jongewaard was again determined to gain ascendency on the race and began to distance himself in the 70 metre sand section by riding where others could not. At first it was slight advantages that benefit Jongewaard, though by lap three a considerable gap had formed similar to the previous day’s race. Behind the leader Adrian Jackson and Garry Millburn were working together to ride away from the rest of the field. Jongewaard again was able to cruise on his last lap end enjoy victory for the second time in as many races. Adrian Jackson gained an advantage over Millburn to take second place, while Millburn had to dig very deep to hold off a fast finishing Craig Cooke for the win.




April McDonough and Chris Jongewaard both consolidated their lead in the National Cyclocross Series as well as showing excellent form ahead of the National Championship to be held in Adelaide in August.

Congratulations and thankyou must go towards Greg Murison, Brew CX, Perth Mountain Bike Club and the whole Perth cyclocross community for putting on a fun weekend of racing and hosting so many interstate visitors. The sense of community was astounding!





Elite Men

  1. Chris Jongewaard            1.00.42
  2. Adrian Jackson                  +0’20
  3. Garry Millburn                   +0’34
  4. Craig Cooke                        +0’42
  5. Peter Hatton                      +1’32
  6. Paul Redenbach                +1’45
  7. Shaun Lewis                       +2’02
  8. Chris Aitken                        +2’13
  9. Brad Clarke                         +2’29
  10. Russell Collett                    +3’02


Elite Women

  1. April Mcdonough             43.59
  2. Melissa Anset                    +2’05
  3. Josie Simpson                    +3’03
  4. Kate Swain                          +4’12
  5. Gemma Kernich                +4’53