NSW CX Series – Canberra Finale to be the Decider


Posted by auscxmag

Posted in News

words: Paul Aubrey


The fourth and final round of the inaugural NSW Cyclocross Series will be held at the Narrabundah velodrome in Canberra on Sunday July 24th.  The event is co-host by CORC and Vikings Cycling Club.


Viking are co-hosting the event with CORC to help celebrate their 20th anniversary. Sly Fox Coffee will be catering for the event to keep you warm, fed and caffeinated, and a local DJ will be spinning some tunes. Lonsdale St Roasters, Ride365 and Viking Cycling Club are all contributing to the prize pool. If there is enough social media support, BrewCX might even get baking.


The event will showcase the venue, especially with the recent addition of a second gate, allowing riders and enter and exit the velodrome separately.  The course will feature all the aspect you expect in a cyclocross course, including the brilliant North Face a steep grass hill that will be ridden and run in multiple directions.


The video from the last round will give you a taste of what to expect.



Event Details:




Pre Entry:




The overall podium places for each category remain up in the air. To open up the series to allow rider to miss a round, the series points score is based on taking the 3 best results posted by a rider. The final race will decide the outcome across all categories.


Series Points Schedule

1st – 100

2nd – 95

3rd – 90

4th – 85

5th – 80

6th – 76

7th – 72

8th – 68

9th – 64

10th – 62


If riders are tied on points the count back will be based on the following criteria:

  1. Count back on most number of wins;

if not decided as we have an even number of rounds then

  1. Most recent win takes precedent;

if not decided then

  1. Finishing order in Race 4 of the series.




Elite Men

It is no surprise to see the rivalry between Chris Aitken and Garry Millburn will continue in Canberra. Whilst Aitken finished 1 step ahead of Millburn in the first 2 rounds of the NCXS, Millburn hit back at the recent race at Terry Hills.


* If Chris Aitken wins he wins the series

* If Garry Millburn finishes ahead of Chris he wins the series
* On the the third step of the podium it looks likely to be a battle between Michael Potter and Nick Smith. Assuming the pair drop their results from Round 1 they are separated by 10 points.
Elite Women

The final outcome of the Women’s series is also unknown. 4 riders all have the potential to take the series out.

* Fiona Caroline and Nicole Sutton are currently separated by 10 points at the top of the points table. This again will be a race within a race to see who finishes in front.

* Though currently sitting in 3rd, If Gina Ricardo continues her unbeaten record in the NSWCX she will take the series out.

* Genevieve McKew also has the potential to place on the podium if she posts another strong result.

* Though not featuring on the series podium, another rider to watch will be local Claire Aubrey. Aubrey has shown she has the potential to race for the win, especially on a technical course.  This is an interesting permutation as she could take a win off the table which is important in the event of a count back as well as being able to split riders.


Masters 30+ Men

I may sound like a broken record, again the well represented Master category will come down to the final round.


* Carl Fokkema must win, if he wants to take out the series

* If Stu Adam finishes ahead of Carl he wins the series

* Jeff Curtes could also move up the standings if he finishes in front of Carl, and a victory would be extremely beneficial in the event of a count back.

* Another rider to watch will be local rider Brad Morton was has the form and experience to split the group and take a valuable win


It will come down to the rider who has the best set of running legs, and can adapt best to the colder weather.


B-Grade Men

This category is an unknown, dependant on who starts. Simon Kane and Ben Cirulis are split by 4 points at the top of the table.


Stay tuned for a post race wrap of the NSWCX.